MarketLine Advantage tracks industry and company competition, strategy, market share, trends, mergers, acquisitions, and forecasting. Reports for large companies often include a SWOT analysis. Many reports are in real time, often generated from primary data gathered from industry-specific associations.
MarketLine Advantage allows you to search all of its industry and company profiles using the SEARCH BOX on the top of the page.
To begin your search, enter your industry into the empty search bar in the homepage, select INDUSTRY PROFILES, and then click the magnifying glass, search, or press enter.
Scroll down to select the country relevant to your research or by clicking REFINEMENTS > GEOGRAPHY and selecting the region or country relevant to your research.
The reports will include the following:
"Title of Report." MarketLine Advantage, Date of Publication, URL.
Example:
“Hot Drinks in the United States.” MarketLine Advantage, 16 Aug. 2022, advantage.marketline.com/Analysis/ViewasPDF/united-states-hot-drinks-161140.
1) Type your company into the empty search bar in the homepage, select Company Profiles, and then click the magnifying
glass, search, or press enter.
2) Select the exact company you want to research. In this example, you would click Starbucks Corp.
3) Click on any of the sections on the left to learn more about:
"Company Name." MarketLine Advantage, Date of Publication, URL.
“Starbucks Corp.” MarketLine Advantage, 16 Sep. 2022, advantage.marketline.com/Company/Summary/starbucks_corporation
Mintel is a consumer research database. In over 600 market research reports, it provides data for entrepreneurial studies, sales, marketing, and target markets, as well as key current statistical information. It will be most helpful to you when searching for information about industry market size and growth, market composition, and finding a target market.
Every time you access Mintel you will be asked to accept their terms and conditions.
Mintel allows you to search all of its reports, analyses, and news using the SEARCH BOX on the top of the page.
To begin your search, enter your INDUSTRY in the SEARCH BOX.
Your results will include related reports AND all other reports and results.
You can also SEARCH by selecting filters under CATEGORY.
You can also NARROW your results by CONTENT TYPE or DEMOGRAPHIC, by selecting the type of content you are looking for like reports, industry trends, news, etc.
You can tell which results are the type of report you need by hovering over a report and seeing if it gives you the option to select Overview, Market, Consumer, Brand/Company, and Data. Below is an example of the options you should see. Then click on the TITLE or any of the JUMP TO SECTIONS:
Mintel reports follow a common layout. Scroll down to REPORT CONTENT to access its five sections: Overview, Market, Consumer, Brand/Company, and Data. Each of these sections also has a number of subsections. To look at any part of the reports click on the subsection you want to review.
You can also download part but not all of the report using the download menu in each report.
Finally, you can also search within each report or report subsection to find KEY TERMS.
Analyst’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Report.” Mintel, Date, URL.
Lo, Buddy. “Smartphones: Incl Impact of COVID-19 – US – June 2020.” Mintel, 30 June 2020, clients-mintel-com.libaccess.fdu.edu.
Simmons Catalyst provides access to consumer data including demographics, product usage, lifestyle characteristics, brand preferences, and media habits. This powerful tool enables users to create custom research reports using data from Simmons National Consumer Survey, a survey of more than 23,000 U.S. adults, 500 product categories and over 8,000 brands. Survey data is obtained from the continental United States.
Simmons Catalyst Database Guide
Step-by-Step Instructions: How to Create a Crosstab
Understanding Crosstab Results
* a single asterisk indicates a cell count from 31 to 60. Projections may be unstable, use with caution
** a double asterisk indicates a cell count below 31. Projections are likely unstable, use with caution.
MRI-Simmons. “Title of Crosstab.” Simmons Catalyst, URL, Date Accessed (if needed).
MRI-Simmons. “Spring 2019 NHCS Adult Study 12 Month.” Simmons Catalyst, 18 Oct. 2022, insights.mrisimmons.com/university/fdu.
Note: sources that may be updated or changed should include the access date.
Business Insights: Global contains detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. It also provides thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection.
Business Insight: Global allows you to search all of its profiles and reports in the SEARCH BOX on the top of the page.
To begin your search, enter an INDUSTRY in the SEARCH BOX. As you begin to type it will make suggestions for your search. Select one that is a close match. Make sure you also select INDUSTRY in the drop down menu, as COMPANY is the default selection. Then click SEARCH.
Once you select the INDUSTRY REPORT you are looking for, you will be brought to the main report. From here you can see statistics about the industry and links to articles from various sources:
To begin your search, enter a COMPANY in the SEARCH BOX. As you begin to type it will make suggestions for your search. Select the one that is a match. Make sure COMPANY is selected in the drop down menu. Then click SEARCH.
Once you select the COMPANY REPORT you are looking for, you will be brought to the main report. From here you can see company information and links to related articles from various sources.
D&B Hoovers provides in-depth profiles of international companies (including key executives and detailed financial information), as well as industry analysis, global business news, and RMA Industry Norms.
D&B Hoovers allows you to search all of its company profiles using the SEARCH BOX on the top right of the page. As you begin to enter the company name, formal name suggestions will appear. Select one and that will bring you to the company profile.
Use the navigation bar on the left to navigate to information like company products and operations, SWOT analysis, competitors, and product segments.
When no date is provided, skip that information in your citation. It is recommended that you add the date you accessed the work at the end of the citation in your Works Cited list. Above is an example of what that would look like.
"Title of Company Profile." D&B Hoovers, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
“Apple Inc.” D&B Hoovers, portal.euromonitor.com/portal/analysis/tab. Accessed 18 Oct. 2022.
NetAdvantage is Standard & Poor’s comprehensive database of key business information. It provides corporation records to over 12,000 publicly held U.S. Companies.
NetAdvantage allows you to search industry surveys of publicly held U.S. companies. First click on the INDUSTRY SURVEYS button.
Then click the Select a GICS Industry down arrow, to see all industry options. Select your industry and click the SEARCH button.
Under the HEADLINE column, click on a title of a survey to open the report.
"Title of Survey." NetAdvantage, Date of Publication, URL.
“Airlines.” Passport, 17 Jun. 2022, capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/Research/InvestmentResearch.aspx?stateKey=1ef7535e8cd84619ab85e9b0002be8f0&pagemode=13.
NetAdvantage allows you to search company profiles of publicly held U.S. companies using the SEARCH BOX on the top left of the page. As you begin to enter the company name, formal name suggestions will appear. Select one and that will bring you to the company profile.
Use the navigation bar on the left to navigate to information like company's key stats and quick comps.
When no date is provided, skip that information in your citation. It is recommended that you add the date you accessed the work at the end of the citation in your Works Cited list. Above is an example of what that would look like.
"Title of Company Profile." D&B Hoover, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
“JetBlue Airways Corporation (NasdaqGS:JBLU)” D&B Hoovers, capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/company.aspx?companyId=106437. Accessed 18 Oct. 2022.
