Welcome to the Nursing & Allied Health Studies Subject Guide! This page contains quick access to popular databases, new books from the Libraries' collection, and important resources. Please use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate this guide for a variety of information related to Nursing & Allied Health Studies.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This is an excellent resource for evidence-based information.
Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation, And Entrepreneurship In Nursing And Healthcare by
Delivers the tools for a new generation of nurse leaders to forge innovative solutions for complex healthcare issues Authored by world-class innovators and leaders in evidence-based healthcare practice, this text delivers proven strategies for incorporating inventive leadership solutions into daily practice. It is the only such resource to include an accompanying skills-building handbook to help readers put key content into real-world practice. The second edition builds on the strengths of the first with six new chapters focusing on emotional intelligence and crucial conversations, leading in a virtual world, budgeting and the art of negotiation, putting leadership competencies into practice, learning from the frontlines, and building organizational wellness. It spotlights entrepreneurial thinking for nurses working in larger healthcare systems and private practice and includes examples of innovative solutions developed during COVID-19. The text also reflects current AACN Essentials and other national standards and competencies. The book differs from traditional academic texts by providing relatable content that is both practical and engaging. With the aim of stimulating readers to move beyond conventional thinking and behavior, it provides plentiful first-person accounts of successful healthcare leadership and innovation and step-by-step "how-tos" for productively applying concepts. A popular "Call to Action" feature provides practical exercises to help readers develop the skills addressed in each chapter. Motivational quotes, podcasts, learning objectives, review questions, and bulleted takeaway points provide additional opportunities for in-depth learning. An extensive instructor package includes PPTs, podcasts, and useful teaching strategies. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the Second Edition: Six new chapters addressing emotional intelligence and crucial conversations, leading in a virtual world, budgeting and the art of negotiation, putting leadership competencies into practice, learning from the frontlines, and building organizational wellness Highlights entrepreneurial thinking for nurses in larger healthcare systems or private practice Includes examples of innovation solutions developed during COVID-19 Reflects updated AACN Essentials and other national standards and competencies A supplemental skills-building handbook helps learners put key content into real-world practice. Key Features: Delivers multiple real-world examples of leadership, innovation, and the entrepreneurial mindset with direct applicability to current nursing practice Provides accompanying skills-building handbook to help nurses put knowledge in to practice Includes motivational quotes to inspire and challenge readers Embeds "Calls to Action"---practical exercises to help readers develop specific skills related to chapter content---within each chapter Presents educational podcasts by world-class leaders Offers succinct takeaway points distilling key concepts in each chapter Includes learning objectives, review questions, bulleted takeaway points, and an extensive instructor package
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by
5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service! Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care, 9th Edition, is your students' key to ensuring safe, ethical, and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps students master transcultural theories, models, and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment. Incorporating the expertise of an expanded team of established pioneers in the transcultural nursing field, this updated 9th Edition provides a contemporary framework for culturally competent nursing care. Content has been extensively reviewed and revised to reflect the evolving healthcare delivery system; new research studies and theoretical advances; an emphasis on effective communication, teamwork, and collaboration; and the latest clinical guidance on how nurses and other healthcare providers can use culturally competent skills to improve the care of clients, families, groups, and communities.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare Discover how to conduct qualitative nursing research with confidence Co-authored by experienced researchers, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare offers practical and applied examples for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. With clear explanations of abstract ideas and practical procedures, this updated edition incorporates recent examples in nursing research and developments in the qualitative field, providing readers with the latest approaches and techniques for gaining insight into people's attitudes, behaviours, value systems, concerns, motivations, aspirations, culture and lifestyles. From ethnographies to action research, readers will find explorations of data collection, sampling and analysis, including discussions of: Interviewing and participant observation, strategies, and procedures Trustworthiness and validity, and ensuring the credibility of qualitative research A variety of approaches in qualitative research, such as grounded theory, phenomenology and narrative inquiry Whether you're a postgraduate nursing student, a third-year nursing student on a pre-registration nursing programme, or a qualified nursing and healthcare staff member, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is the perfect resource to help you conduct meaningful research with confidence.
Interlibrary Loan expands the range of available research materials. Materials not owned by FDU Libraries may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Please see Requesting Interlibrary Loans for information on how to request materials to be sent to FDU Libraries.
Off-campus (remote) access to the FDU Libraries is available to students, faculty, and staff. When a database or resource is selected, a prompt for your FDU NetID and password will appear on your screen. Access will be granted upon verification of your credentials.
