FDU LibGuides: Pharmacy Subject Guide: Decision Tools

Alternative/Natural

Drug Digest
DrugDigest is a noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site dedicated to empowering consumers to make informed choices about drugs and treatment options
HerbMed
Alternative Medicine Foundation
Herbs & Supplements: MedlinePlus
National Library of Medicine
IBIDS
NIH International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database
Longwood Herbal Task Force
A cooperative effort of the staff and students from Children’s Hospital, the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and the Dana Farber Cancer Institute
NCCIH
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health
NIH: Office of Dietary Supplements
NIH: Dietary Supplements Fact Sheets

Toxicology

American Association of Poison Control Centers
AAPCC
Bad Bug Book (Second Edition)
FDA Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms & Natural Toxins Handbook

Identification Tools

NDC Directory
FDA National Drug Code Directory
Pill Identification Tool
WebMD
WHO: International Nonproprietary Names

Substance Abuse

Addiction Search
Internet portal for addiction-related research
National Clearinghouse on Alcohol and Drug Information
SAMHSA's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI) is the Nation's one-stop resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment.
National Institute on Alcohol and Alcoholism
NIAAA provides leadership in the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems
National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.
ONDCP
US Office of National Drug Control Policy
SAMSHSA
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration

Patient Education

Family Doctor: Over the Counter Medications
Healthfinder
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services provides information in English and Spanish.
MedFacts
Drugs.com Consumer Drug Information
Medline Plus
Health information from the National Library of Medicine. Easy access to Medline and Health topics, medical dictionaries, directories and publications.
Merck Manuals
Merck Research Laboratories Home Health book

Package Insert

DailyMed
more...less...
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drugs@FDA
more...less...
FDA approved drug products

Resources for NSU ADR Rank Project

EBM Glossary

Guidelines

AHRQ
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Athletic Precautions and Banned Drugs
Biologics Guidances
FDA
Drugs: Guidance, Compliance, Regulatory Information
FDA site
FDA Medication Guides
IDSA Guidelines
Infectious Diseases Society of America
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NCCN
Evidence-based cancer guidelines from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network

Evidence Based Medicine

ACP Journal Club
consists of the full text of ACP Journal Club (1991-) and Evidence Based Medicine . Editors screen the top clinical journals identify studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant to review. The reviews include an expanded abstract and commentary by the reviewers.
AHRQ
Centre for Evidence Based Mental Health in Oxford
Cochrane Collaboration
a collection of regularly updated systematic reviews on the effects of health care prepared by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are concentrated on controlled trials and are highly structured. Many are meta-analyses, statistically combining data from multiple reviews. It also includes Protocols (Introduction, Objectives, Materials and Methods) for reviews currently being prepared.
Glossary of Clinical Trial Terms
HStat: Health Services/Technical Assessment
From NLM includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
PubMed Health
Trip database
Tutorial on EBD from Boston University Medical Center
Tutorial on EBD from University of Chicago
Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Open Access drug information portals

LactMed
National Library of Medicine database on drugs and breastfeeding
Martindale's Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Consumer drug information from the National Library of Medicine

Drug Facts

A-Z Drug Facts
Drugs.com
Antiretroviral Drug Profiles
Drug Interactions
Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy Drug Information Resources
FP Notebook
a medical reference for primary care and emergency clinicians.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
Antibiotic Guide from John Hopkins University
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Consumer drug information from the National Library of Medicine
Orange Book
FDA
more...less...
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Web MD Drugs A-Z
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

Drug Prices

AARP Drug Savings Tool
Costco Prescription Drug Directory
GoodRx
compares prescription drug prices and finds coupons at more than 60000 US pharmacies.
New Jersey Prescription Drug Price Registry
Walmart $4 Prescriptions
Generic drug list

Non Prescription Therapies

AbleData
AbleData database of assistive technology by National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research
FDA Medical Devices
Materials for Medical Devices: ASM International
Medical Device and Drug index
MDDI online
Medical Device newsletter

Language Resources

EthnoMed
University of Washington: Integrating cultural information into clinical practice
Medical Spanish for Healthcare Professionals
MedlinePlus: Consumer Health Information- Multilingual
Multilingual Glossary of medical terms

Vaccines & Immunizations

Trials

Actis AIDs Clinical Trials
CenterWatch
Global clinical trials information
Clinical Trial Registries
Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy
Clinical Trials National Cancer Institute
ClinicalTrials.gov
a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
Stanford Trials
Clinical trials at the Stanford School of Medicine

Repackaging and Labeling

FDA: Compliance Policy Guide

Compounding

ASHP Sterile Compounding
Compounding Hotline: Pharmacy Times
Compounding Recipes Index
Hospital for Sick Children Compounding Service
Compounding Today Newsletter
FDA: Pharmacy Compounding
The Alliance for Pharmacy Compounding (formerly IACP)
an association that represents more than 2,000 pharmacists and technicians who focus on the specialty practice of pharmacy compounding. More than 87,000 patients and prescribers who rely on compounded medicines also belong to our organization.
PubChem
NCBI

Veterinary

FDA: Animal and Veterinary
Approved Animal Drug Products (Green Book)
FDA
Merck Veterinary Manual
Merck online
US Center for Veterinary Medicine
FDA

Safety

FDA Drug Safety and Availability
ISMP
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
MedWatch
The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program

Pharmacy Subject Guide: Decision Tools

Alternative/Natural

Toxicology

Identification Tools

Substance Abuse

Patient Education

Package Insert

Resources for NSU ADR Rank Project

Guidelines

Evidence Based Medicine

Open Access drug information portals

Drug Facts

Drug Prices

Non Prescription Therapies

Language Resources

Vaccines & Immunizations

Trials

Repackaging and Labeling

Compounding

Veterinary

Safety

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library