This is the course guide designed to help Dr. Htay's EPS students find research and other contextual background information for their Social Media Influencer assignments. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your librarian(s) if you have any questions!
Your Librarian: Brooke Duffy b.duffy@fdu.edu
Today we will:
practice search techniques for your Social Media Influencer assignment
locate and evaluate web-based background information sources
discuss critical reading techniques
You can use the following page to help you translate this or any other page into your language of choice:
includes evidence to support your claim of how your assigned social media influencer exhibits the qualities identified
by the assigned articles
your evidence (your research) should come from credible and scholarly sources.
credible sources may include online interviews, videos, Instagram and Twitter.
examines how these key elements of influencing, as explained in the assigned article(s) - below -, are evident in the social media influencer you are assigned.
Library Databases
You can use the following databases to find information on:
your specific social media influencer (remember - you may have to Google them - there might not be academic sources specifically about your influencer, especially if they are newer / lesser known)
parasocial relationships
opinion leadership
social media influencers in general, especially of a certain type that relates to your influencer (ex: nutrition influencer, fitness influencer, travel influencer, etc.)
Databases for Finding Background Information
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. Guide to Credo Reference
CQ Researcher OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Popular Culture UniverseThis link opens in a new windowMore than 300 full-text volumes of material related to popular culture both current and historical.
Databases for Locating Scholarly Articles
Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSearch ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences. Guide to Using Research Library
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowOur largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications. Guide to using Academic Search Premier
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going as far back as 1886, with searchable cited references back to 1998.
Useful for:
Accounting
Finance
Marketing
Management Information Systems
Management
Entrepreneurship
Includes:
Journal Articles
Company Profiles (MarketLine Reports)
Industry Reports (MarketLine Reports & Barnes Reports)
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowContains more than three million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports, in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals. Guide to Using APA PsycINFO
Databases for Finding News Articles
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Gale News CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowIdeal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics. Guide to Using Access World News
New York Times OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today. Guide to Using New York Times
The New York Times online requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowAccess the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, one of the world's leading daily financial newspapers.
Useful for:
Newspaper articles on various topics including finance, the stock market, the economy, management, politics, U.S. news and world news.
Market data including stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, mutual funds, and ETFs
Includes:
Newspapers
Assigned Articles
Articles assigned by Dr. Htay with background information on Opinion Leadership, Para-Social Relationships, and personality qualities of Social Media Influencers. You should refer to these in your analysis (see full assignment for specific questions):
