These databases will help you identify key topics, people, and events, which can help you to narrow the scope of your research to a specific topic or research question.
Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world.
CQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
These databases contain scholarly (peer-reviewed), journal, and trade publication articles.
While not subject specific, the below databases may be useful for finding additional scholarly journals:
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world.
Access the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today.
Additional databases with news articles:
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
These sources provide quick facts, statistics, and maps.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
A comprehensive country-by-country resource for international business and trade. Information is provided on business and trade environments, current economic climate, statistical rankings, taxation, business culture, trade compliance for imports and exports, and more.
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world.
Undata provides numerous databases, tables, and glossaries contain over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes, including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, and Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
These databases provide quick facts and maps about countries from around the globe.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
A comprehensive country-by-country resource for international business and trade. Information is provided on business and trade environments, current economic climate, statistical rankings, taxation, business culture, trade compliance for imports and exports, and more.
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world.
Undata provides numerous databases, tables, and glossaries contain over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes, including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, and Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
These resources contain primary documents from around the globe.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
Undata provides numerous databases, tables, and glossaries contain over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes, including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, and Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Click here for additional information about Primary Sources.
