FDU LibGuides: Administrative Science and Public Administration Subject Guide: Policy Research

Policy Research

Using law and/or legislation for policy research can include bills, amendments, court decisions, debates, and law reviews.

Federal

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives.

Congress.gov
Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
Supreme Court Database
The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2012 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

New Jersey

New Jersey State Library (NJSL) - Law Library
The NJSL provides New Jersey related legal resources including NJ Laws, Court Opinions, Administrative Law, Executive Orders, and more.

Using government agencies for policy research can include reports, statistics, and outcomes.

Federal

U.S. Census Bureau The Census Bureau tracks American voter participation and registration by demographic characteristics.
U.S. Government’s Open Data The federal government’s open data site, which aims to make government more open and accountable.
Federal Election Commission (FEC) The FEC provides statistics related to campaign financing.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS): Yearbook of Immigration Statistics This site from the Office of Immigration Statistics includes multiple years of the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics which is a wealth of information about the immigrant population, immigration status, naturalization, and enforcement actions.
Bureau of Transportation (BTS) Browse databases, surveys, reports and other statistical products created by BTS.
United States Congress Official source for federal legislative information and includes bills, laws, committee information, committee reports, the Congressional Record, roll call votes and profiles of members of Congress.
United States Courts The official website of the U.S. Federal Courts. Find court records, statistics, forms & fees, and current and historical information abut the Federal Courts and Federal Judges.

New Jersey

NJ.GOV - Official Site of the State of NJ Includes links to fast fact about NJ and searchable archive databases for old birth/marriage/death records, land/probate/court records, and military and wartime records. Departments and Agencies page links to NJ government departments and agencies’ websites that have additional data and statistics pertaining to that department or agency. Center for Health Statistics and Informatics page links to current vital events statistics (birth/marriage/death), violent death reporting, and COVID-19 death data.
New Jersey - US Census Bureau QuickFacts NJ information from census data.
New Jersey Department of Health's State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) System provides access to public health datasets, statistics, and information on the health status of New Jerseyans.
New Jersey State Library (NJSL)- NJ Resources The State Library maintains an extensive collection of official New Jersey publications and links to many NJ specific resources like NJ Laws and state databases.
Morris County Data and Statistics Collection of county specific data and statistics including population, housing, income, education, employment, municipal profiles, and area and zoning.
NJ Counts NJCounts is the annual Point-in-Time Count of individuals and families experiencing homelessness in New Jersey. Reports are broken down into both counties and state.
NJ School Performance Report Data from NJ schools which can be search by school, district, or state.

Business and Economy

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics A large body of current statistical evidence on topics such as inflation, unemployment, employment, future job creation projections, pay and benefits, workplace injuries, and international labor statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Provides statistics based on the national income and product (i.e., macroeconomic) accounts. Topics include gross domestic product imports and exports, corporate profits, personal income, savings, and government receipts and expenditures. Statistics are available at the national and regional level, with GDP available by state and metropolitan area.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) USDA’s Agricultural Research Service provides statistics on crop production, animal products, market conditions, food safety, nutrition, and farm populations.
U.S. Department of the Treasury This site provides summary statistics for various bond rates, and monthly updates on key economic indicators.
U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Tax-Stats The IRS publishes summaries of data taken from personal and corporate tax forms, as well as information for nonprofit and charitable organizations.

Criminal Justice

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Institute of Corrections (NIC) NIC makes available state-by-state profiles that include state and some local statistics on the prison and jail system, incarcerations, probation, parole, cost of incarceration, and crime.
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics A central access point for statistics related to crime, corrections, law enforcement, criminal justice expenditures and employment, and victims.

Education

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) IPEDS is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.
U.S. Department of Education (DOE) Data and statistics for both K-12 students and schools as well as Colleges and Universities.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) Publishes data on the American science and engineering workforce and the progress of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education in the United States.

Energy and Environment

National Centers for Environmental Information NOAA’s former three data centers—the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center, which includes the National Coastal Data Development Center—have merged into the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI).
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Climatic Data Center The NOAA Climatic Data Center allows download for detailed climate data for US and international locations for annual, monthly, daily, and in some cases hourly intervals.
U.S. Energy Information Administration Provides data at the national and state level related to energy consumption, production, marketing, distribution, efficiency, expenditures, and environmental characteristics.

Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): National Center for Health Statistics Provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make healthcare safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
Office of Inspector General US Department of Health and Human Services Since its 1976 establishment, the Office of Inspector General (OIG) has been at the forefront of the Nation's efforts to fight waste, fraud and abuse and to improving the efficiency of Medicare, Medicaid and more than 100 other Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) programs.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
US Department of Health and Human Services (Laws & Regulations) The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
US Food and Drug Administration The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
US National Institute of Health (Research & Training) The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
World Health Organization WHO publishes an annual report and provides on-line data, as well as national summaries related to health, disease, health behavior, medical resources, birth and mortality, and expenditures on health care.

Using policy and advocacy sites for policy research can include reports, research, pros/cons, and social action. Advocacy sites are published by organizations (mostly nonprofits) with the purpose to influence public opinion.

Tips for using policy and advocacy sites:

To find additional organizations not listed below, search for trade or professional associations, Think Tanks, IGOs, and NGOs that are in the public/education/health/nonprofit fields.
Read the organization's "About" or "About Us" page to learn about the organization's mission and goals.
Look for an "Issues" or "Topics" link, which most advocacy sites will have.
Look for links on the website to "reports" or "research," "data," "legislation" or "legislative action" etc.

Non-governmental Organization (NGO) Search Engine

Click NGO Search Engine to search for topics and issues across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Search Engine

Click Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine to search for topics and issues across hundreds of IGO websites.

Public Policy Organizations

Annenberg Public Policy Center Center that produces research on the role of communication in politics. The center also produces research on many more topics, including: health communication and adolescent risk.
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management APPAM is dedicated to improving public policy and management by fostering excellence in research, analysis, and education.
The Brookings Institutions Nonpartisan research policy organization that conducts research in areas including: public policy, foreign policy, and economics. Also find publications available at KU Libraries in the KU Library Catalog.
Cato Institute The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization—or think tank—that creates a presence for and promotes libertarian ideas in policy debates.
Center for Governmental Research Non-profit organization that provides research to non-profit organizations and local, state, and regional governments.
National Conference of State Legislatures NCSL, founded in 1975, is a bipartisan organization that represents the legislatures in the states, territories and commonwealths of the U.S. Its mission is to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of legislatures and to foster interstate cooperation and facilitate the exchange of information among legislatures.
PolicyLink PolicyLink is a national research and action institute advancing economic and social equity by Lifting Up What Works.
The RAND Corporation Non-profit policy organization originally established to conduct research related to US military policy. However, their research is now international in scope, and includes business, education, and health.
Urban Institute Gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

Education Policy Organizations

Foundation for Excellence in Education Supports state leaders in transforming education to unlock opportunity and lifelong success for each and every child.
Institute for Higher Education Policy A nonpartisan, nonprofit research, policy, and advocacy organization committed to promoting postsecondary access and success for all students, regardless of race, background, or circumstance.
National Education Policy Center The mission of the National Education Policy Center is to produce and disseminate high-quality, peer-reviewed research to inform education policy discussions.
Alliance for Excellent Education A national nonprofit advocacy organization committed to expanding equitable educational opportunities for students of color, students from low-income families, and other marginalized groups.
National Center for Women & Information Technology The farthest-reaching network of change leaders focused on advancing innovation by correcting underrepresentation in computing.
EdChoice Nonpartisan organization committed to understanding and pursuing a K–12 education system that empowers every family to choose the schooling environment that fits their children’s needs best.
Educational Policy Institute EPI works diligently and in close partnership with their clients to ensure that the best and most useful outcomes are made possible.
FairTest The National Center for Fair & Open Testing (FairTest) advances quality education and equal opportunity by promoting fair, open, valid and educationally beneficial evaluations of students, teachers and schools.
Center for Education Policy Analysis The Stanford Center for Education Policy Analysis (CEPA) is a research center created in 2009 to unite an interdisciplinary array of nationally prominent scholars from across the campus to provide the depth and scale of research needed to affect education practice and policy in meaningful ways.
Education Policy Institute Located in the UK, EPI's aim is to raise standards in education through rigorous data analysis, research and the exchange of information and knowledge to help inform the public and hold government and decision-makers to account.

Health Policy Organizations

American Academy of Pediatrics (Advocacy) AAP supports pediatricians and other healthcare providers in their efforts to better understand and advocate for a culture of health in their communities that ensures every child reaches their optimal health and well-being.
AARP Policy Institute AARP Foundation serves vulnerable people 50 and older by creating and advancing effective solutions that help them secure the essentials.
America's Health Insurance Plans National association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage.
American Medical Association Current Topics in Advocacy
American Nurses Association
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (Health Reform) A policy institute and nonpartisan research organization that analyzes a range of government programs and polices, with an emphasis on those affecting low and moderate income people.
Children's Defense Fund (Health Reform) The CDF is an advocacy group for the well-being of children that pays particular attention to the needs of poor, minority, and disabled children.
Commonwealth Fund Independent research on health care issues and make grants to promote better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency in health care, particularly for society’s most vulnerable, including people of color, people with low income, and those who are uninsured.
FamiliesUSA: The Voice for Health Care Consumers Families USA’s work centers on four focus areas which we believe are crucial for achieving our vision of a nation where everyone has access to the best health and health care: Healthcare equity value, healthcare equity, coverage, and consumer experience.
Guttmacher Institute The Guttmacher Institute advances sexual and reproductive health and rights through an interrelated program of research, policy analysis and public education designed to generate new ideas, encourage enlightened public debate and promote sound policy and program development.
Kaiser Family Foundation To navigate health issues, click on the menu in the top left corner.
National Immigration Forum Health Care & Immigration Reform
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (Health Policy) Promoting evidence-based policies to improve health and well-being in America.
National Academy for State Health Policy The National Academy for State Health Policy has been a nonpartisan organization committed to developing and advancing state health policy innovations and solutions. NASHP provides a unique forum for the productive exchange of strategies across state government, including the executive and legislative branches.

Using media and public opinion for policy research can include news, public debate, and polls.

Media

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.

Database Guide
Black Life in America (News Sources) This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to the present.
Gale News Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today.

Database Guide
The New York Times online requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions.
US Majors Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest US Major Dailies includes full-text coverage of several major US newspapers: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Denver Post, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (with New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine), USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal (with WSJ : the Magazine from the Wall Street Journal), and The Washington Post. Although starting dates differ, coverage for each newspaper extends to the present.

Public Opinion

Gallup.Com
Gallup.com provides articles that summarize the results of recent, selected polling data. Includes some international polling.
Louis Harris Data Center (Dataverse)
The surveys cover a diverse range of topics, such as aging, environmental issues, leisure and the arts, business, foreign affairs, presidential ratings, health care, attitudes toward government, and crime.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Public Agenda: Public Opinion Research
Public Agenda applies its expertise in nonpartisan research and public engagement to foster progress on the issues people care about most, including: Education, health care, and reinventing opportunity.
Quinnipiac University Poll Release Search
The Quinnipiac University Poll is a nationally recognized leader in public opinion research taking the pulse of American voters, on a continual basis, across the country regarding key public policy issues and elections.
World Public Opinion Poll
In partnership with the International Institutions and Global Governance program at the Council on Foreign Relations, WorldOpinion.org consolidates global and U.S. public opinion covering ten major issue areas: elements of world order, international institutions, violent conflict, terrorism, nuclear proliferation, climate change, energy security, the global economy, economic development, and human rights.

Administrative Science and Public Administration Subject Guide: Policy Research

Policy Research

Using law and/or legislation for policy research can include bills, amendments, court decisions, debates, and law reviews.

Federal

New Jersey

Using government agencies for policy research can include reports, statistics, and outcomes.

Federal

New Jersey

Business and Economy

Criminal Justice

Education

Energy and Environment

Health

Using policy and advocacy sites for policy research can include reports, research, pros/cons, and social action. Advocacy sites are published by organizations (mostly nonprofits) with the purpose to influence public opinion.

Tips for using policy and advocacy sites:

Non-governmental Organization (NGO) Search Engine

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Search Engine

Public Policy Organizations

Education Policy Organizations

Health Policy Organizations

Using media and public opinion for policy research can include news, public debate, and polls.

Media

Public Opinion

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library