Welcome - WRIT 1002 - (Kidder) - FDU LibGuides at FDU Libraries

Suggested Databases for Literature

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.   Guide to Using JSTOR 
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1963 to the present. It provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,400 journals titles. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

Suggested General Databases

You can use these databases to search just about any topic to locate academic journal articles.

Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Guide to Using Research Library
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.   Guide to Using JSTOR 
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.  Guide to using Academic Search Premier
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.  Guide to using Academic OneFile

Suggested Subject-Specific Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database covering sociology as well as related areas: It provides full text for some 890 journals dating back to 1908, as well as full text for over 850 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers. Indexing is provided for more than 4,000 journals, with abstracts for over 1,300 "core" journals dating back to 1895.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than three million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports, in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals.   Guide to Using APA PsycINFO 
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window The ScienceDirect College Edition includes some 1,900 full-text Elsevier journals in three collections: Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.

Full List of A-Z Databases at FDU
Use the top-left drop down menu to sort databases by subject. Then select a database (or ask a librarian!) to search.

Finding the Keywords in Your Topic

Visit the Search Statements and Strategy Page for a Full Tutorial!

Once you have determined your topic, you will need to determine keyword search terms that you will use to search within a database. While websites such as Google allow you to search using full phrases, databases work by using just a few keywords.

Example Topic:

"The Letter from Birmingham Jail" (Martin Luther King): Does King’s description of “direct action” (non-violent protest) still work today? What other activist techniques can we compare it to? Are some better suited to some forms of protest than others?

Databases look for word-for-word matches in the text of articles (in addition to other metadata). To isolate keywords in a topic you eliminate any words that are general and not specific to your topic.

Here are some keywords within the example topic (below in bold text).

"The Letter from Birmingham Jail" (Martin Luther King): Does King’s description of “direct action” (non-violent protest) still work today? What other activist techniques can we compare it to? Are some better suited to some forms of protest than others?

Ask Us!

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus (remote) access to the FDU Libraries is available to students, faculty, and staff. When a database or resource is selected, a prompt for your FDU NetID and password will appear on your screen. Access will be granted upon verification of your credentials.

WRIT 1002 - (Kidder): Welcome

Welcome!

Today we will:

See Assignment Details and Topics to select from for Annotated Bibliography and Essay

Suggested Databases for Literature

Suggested General Databases

Suggested Subject-Specific Databases

Finding the Keywords in Your Topic

Visit the Search Statements and Strategy Page for a Full Tutorial!

Once you have determined your topic, you will need to determine keyword search terms that you will use to search within a database. While websites such as Google allow you to search using full phrases, databases work by using just a few keywords.

Example Topic:

"The Letter from Birmingham Jail" (Martin Luther King): Does King’s description of “direct action” (non-violent protest) still work today? What other activist techniques can we compare it to? Are some better suited to some forms of protest than others?

Databases look for word-for-word matches in the text of articles (in addition to other metadata). To isolate keywords in a topic you eliminate any words that are general and not specific to your topic.

Here are some keywords within the example topic (below in bold text).

"The Letter from Birmingham Jail" (Martin Luther King): Does King’s description of “direct action” (non-violent protest) still work today? What other activist techniques can we compare it to? Are some better suited to some forms of protest than others?

Ask Us!

Off-Campus Access

Workshops & Events

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library