This is the course guide designed to help Dr. Kidder's students find research and other contextual background information for their assignments. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your librarian(s) if you have any questions!
Today we will:
briefly go over the FDU Libraries homepage
discuss different resource types and how to find background information
practice using search strategies in the library catalog and databases
Answer one of the following (refer to full assignment for more details):
Assess the effects of allowing employees to work from home.
Assess the effects of "bossware" (employee surveillance software).
Assess the effects of DEI/JEDI/EDI initiatives in the workplace.
Describe the best practices for forming a labour union within BC law.
Library Databases
You can use the following databases to find research, current news publications, and other contextual information for this assignment.
To start: Search using a simple keyword or key phrase relating to your selected prompt. We will go over how to construct search statements to use in these databases using the Search Techniques.
Databases for Finding Background Information
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. Guide to Credo Reference
CQ Researcher OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints In ContextThis link opens in a new windowA resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Databases for Locating Scholarly Articles
Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSearch ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences. Guide to Using Research Library
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowOur largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications. Guide to using Academic Search Premier
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going as far back as 1886, with searchable cited references back to 1998.
Useful for:
Accounting
Finance
Marketing
Management Information Systems
Management
Entrepreneurship
Includes:
Journal Articles
Company Profiles (MarketLine Reports)
Industry Reports (MarketLine Reports & Barnes Reports)
Business: InsightsThis link opens in a new windowDetailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection.
Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Useful for:
Marketing
Entrepreneurship
Finance
Economics
Management
Includes:
Case studies
Company history
Company chronology
Business rankings
SWOT
Brands
Product list
Industry Info
Market Share
Financial Statements
Investment Reports
News
Industry Reports (Plunkett)
Comparison Charting (Company, Country and Industry)
Business from Gale OneFileThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
This is a link to The Walrus website, not a library database. You can search their articles by keywords. If you encounter any paywalls we can place interlibrary loan requests for individual articles.
More Databases for Finding News Articles
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowIdeal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics. Guide to Using Access World News
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Gale News CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
New York Times OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today. Guide to Using New York Times
The New York Times online requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowAccess the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, one of the world's leading daily financial newspapers.
Useful for:
Newspaper articles on various topics including finance, the stock market, the economy, management, politics, U.S. news and world news.
Market data including stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, mutual funds, and ETFs
Includes:
Newspapers
Activity
For today's session you will work on an interactive activity on Padlet.
Interlibrary Loan expands the range of available research materials. Materials not owned by FDU Libraries may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Please see Requesting Interlibrary Loans for information on how to request materials to be sent to FDU Libraries.
At this time we can only fulfill requests for digital articles and book chapters for Vancouver students, faculty, and staff. If you need access to a book, please contact a librarian and we can try to acquire it as an ebook if we do not already offer access. Feel free to suggest an ebook purchase via this form: Suggest a Purchase Form.
