FDU LibGuides: Graphic Design Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Graphic Design

These databases will help you identify key topics, people, and events, which can help you to narrow the scope of your research to a specific topic or research question.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Guide to Credo Reference
International Encyclopedia of Communication This link opens in a new window
The International Encyclopedia of Communication spans the breadth of communication studies, encompassing theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical regions.

These databases contain scholarly (peer-reviewed), journal, and trade publication articles.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides 250 journals covering drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

While not subject specific, the below databases may be useful for finding additional scholarly journals:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
Guide to using Academic Search Premier
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Guide to Using Research Library

These sources provide facts and biographies.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Guide to Using Ebook Central
International Encyclopedia of Communication This link opens in a new window
The International Encyclopedia of Communication spans the breadth of communication studies, encompassing theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical regions.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is a comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
3 concurrent users.
Biography And Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window Biography and Genealogy Master Index allows you to quickly determine where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.

This database contains videos about graphic design.

Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection
Find inspiration and learn more about graphic design from experts in the field.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.  Guide to using Academic Search Premier
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.  Guide to Credo Reference 
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.  Guide to Using Ebook Central
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window The Films on Demand Master Collection provides access to over 41,000 educational videos and award winning documentaries covering a wide range of topics.
Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window Provides 250 journals covering drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
International Encyclopedia of Communication This link opens in a new window Subjects covered include communication theory and philosophy; interpersonal communication; journalism; intercultural and intergroup communication; media effects; strategic communication/PR; communication and media law and policy; media systems in the world; and communication and technology.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Art Online is a comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
3 concurrent users.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Guide to Using Research Library

Graphic Design Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Graphic Design

These databases will help you identify key topics, people, and events, which can help you to narrow the scope of your research to a specific topic or research question.

These databases contain scholarly (peer-reviewed), journal, and trade publication articles.

These sources provide facts and biographies.

This database contains videos about graphic design.

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library