FDU LibGuides: Education Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Education

Best Bets:

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. It features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; and more.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window The Films on Demand Master Collection provides access to over 41,000 educational videos and award winning documentaries covering a wide range of topics.
New York Times In Education This link opens in a new window
Access to the NYT in Education requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions. This is a different account as the New York Times Online account so you will need to create a separate account.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, many of them are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Other Useful Databases:

While not education-specific, these resources cover a wide range of topics including education, and so may be useful for finding additional resources.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.  Database Guide 
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
College in Context This link opens in a new window Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to over 140,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.  Database Guide 
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.  Database Guide 
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep Training This link opens in a new window Peterson's provides standardized test preparation, undergraduate and graduate program research, tuition assistance information, and career advice.
Peterson's requires you to create a free account to access the full collection. You can do so from the site's menu.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Database Guide 
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.  Database Guide

The following databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles. Many also include other types of resources so you may need to use a filter to limit your results to journal articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
College in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.

Database Guide
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.

Database Guide
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, many of them are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

The following databases contain magazine and news articles. Many also include other types of resources so you may need to use a filter to limit your results to newspaper and magazine articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
College in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. It features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; and more.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
New York Times In Education This link opens in a new window
Access to the NYT in Education requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions. This is a different account as the New York Times Online account so you will need to create a separate account.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide

The following databases contain Ebooks and reference materials. Reference sources are useful for finding background information on a topic.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
College in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to over 140,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Database Guide
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep Training This link opens in a new window
Peterson's provides standardized test preparation, undergraduate and graduate program research, tuition assistance information, and career advice.
Peterson's requires you to create a free account to access the full collection. You can do so from the site's menu.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide

The following databases contain audio, video, and/or images. You may need to use the advanced search feature or another filter to limit your results to one of these formats.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
College in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand Master Collection provides access to over 41,000 educational videos and award winning documentaries covering a wide range of topics.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
New York Times In Education This link opens in a new window
Access to the NYT in Education requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions. This is a different account as the New York Times Online account so you will need to create a separate account.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide

Education Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Education

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library