In this section, you will find recommended databases for conducting online research in American History and World History, with biographical and geographical resources as well.
If you are looking for information on finding primary sources, please see the Primary Source Research Guide.
Best Bets:
Other Useful Databases:
While not history-specific, these resources cover a wide range of topics including history, and so may be useful for finding additional resources.
The following databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles. Many also include other types of resources so you may need to use a filter to limit your results to journal articles.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government found in periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
A full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.
The following databases contains reference materials. Reference sources are useful for finding background information on a topic.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
CQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
The Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition provides an exhaustive overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana," and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Covers the important people and events of world history from the age of exploration in the mid-15th century through the modern era. Topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries provide a detailed and comparative view of people, places, and events.
Open textbooks are free, adaptable, and distributable resources funded and published for public use. Reviewed by faculty from various colleges, they can be downloaded at no cost or printed cheaply. These textbooks are used at multiple institutions or affiliated with scholarly societies or professional organizations.
A full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.
A primary source is first-hand information and unfiltered by analysis or interpretation.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to the present.
This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.
Offers primary source documents in African American history from the 1600s to the present, arranged chronologically. Each entry includes the document’s full text as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in historical context.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government found in periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
Covers the important people and events of world history from the age of exploration in the mid-15th century through the modern era. Topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries provide a detailed and comparative view of people, places, and events.
Access the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today.
A full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.
The following databases contain audio, video, and/or images. You may need to use the advanced search feature or another filter to limit your results to one of these formats.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to the present.
CQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
This collection provides access to over 230,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government found in periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
Covers the important people and events of world history from the age of exploration in the mid-15th century through the modern era. Topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries provide a detailed and comparative view of people, places, and events.
A full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.
