Welcome to the Cyber and Homeland Security Subject Guide! This page contains quick access to popular databases, new books from the Libraries' collection, and important resources. Please use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate this guide for a variety of information related to Cyber and Homeland Security.
Military & Government Collection is a database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Cyber Security Politics by
This book examines new and challenging political aspects of cyber security and presents it as an issue defined by socio-technological uncertainty and political fragmentation. Structured along two broad themes and providing empirical examples for how socio-technical changes and political responses interact, the first part of the book looks at the current use of cyber space in conflictual settings, while the second focuses on political responses by state and non-state actors in an environment defined by uncertainties. Within this, it highlights four key debates that encapsulate the complexities and paradoxes of cyber security politics from a Western perspective - how much political influence states can achieve via cyber operations and what context factors condition the (limited) strategic utility of such operations; the role of emerging digital technologies and how the dynamics of the tech innovation process reinforce the fragmentation of the governance space; how states attempt to uphold stability in cyberspace and, more generally, in their strategic relations; and how the shared responsibility of state, economy, and society for cyber security continues to be re-negotiated in an increasingly trans-sectoral and transnational governance space. This book will be of much interest to students of cyber security, global governance, technology studies, and international relations.
Toward a Criminology of Terrorism by
The study of terrorism represents one of the major turning points in criminology of the twenty-first century. In the space of just two decades, research on terrorism and political extremism went from a relatively uncommon niche to a widely recognized criminological specialization. Terrorism research now appears in nearly all mainstream criminology journals; college courses on terrorism and political violence have been added to the curricula of most criminology departments; and a growing number of criminology students are choosing terrorism as a suitable topic for class papers, research topics, theses and dissertations. The purpose of this book is to explore similarities and differences between terrorism and more ordinary forms of crime. This Element considers the ways that criminology has contributed to the study of terrorism and the impact the increasing interest in terrorism has had on criminology. This Element also provides empirical comparisons of terrorist attacks to more ordinary crimes and criminal offenders. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
US National Security by
"The new edition of US NationalSecurityis an essential addition to any academic library."--Choice "Quitesimply the 'bottom-line-up-front' text on the subject ... an outstanding resourcefor students. This accessible work helps readers grasp the key issues,institutions, and processes of US national security policy and politics."--Steven Childs, California StateUniversity, San Bernardino "Thesixth edition of the venerable US National Security: Policymakers,Processes, and Politicsdoes not disappoint. It expertly takes the readerthrough the myriad policy and political challenges, both domestic andinternational, inherent in the national security decision-making process." --ArnoldC. Dupuy, Virginia Tech "Accessible, well-organized, and deeply knowledgeable.... Updated to include the Biden administration, this excellent introduction to national security policymaking shows clearly the interaction of, and tensions between, domestic and international politics, interests and values, and formal and informal institutions of governance." --Russell Burgos, National Defense University Praise for the previous editions: "Takes us through the process and the institutions briefly, clearly, logically.... a most thoughtful and enlightening presentation." --International Affairs "The most easily understood introduction to the US national security process is still Sam C. Sarkesian's US National Security." --Military Review "Well organized, probing, instructive, and multidimensional in perspective." --Perspectives on Political Science The main focus of US national security policy has shifted dramatically since the years of the Obama administration, moving away from nation building and counterinsurgency efforts and toward preparing for traditional state-on-state conflict with powerful peers. The sixth edition of US National Securityreflects that change. It also addresses such current issues as the impact of an increasingly partisan political process, sharp divisions in public opinion, the ongoing challenges of homeland security, and developments in cyberspace and other possible domains of future warfare. Retaining the successful structure and approach of the previous editions, the book clearly introduces and explores the full range of actors, processes, and politics involved in maintaining US national security. CONTENTS: Defining and Defending the National Interest. THE NATIONAL SECURITY CONTEXT. International Actors. The Conflict Spectrum. Battling the Nuclear Genie. The US Political System. NATIONAL SECURITY INSTITUTIONS. The Presidency. The National Security Council and the "Policy Triad." The Military Establishment. The Intelligence Community. MAKING NATIONAL SECURITY POLICY. The Policy Process. The President and Congress. Empowering the People. Civil-Military Relations. LONG-RANGE PERSPECTIVES. Emerging Issues. Improving the System.
Interlibrary Loan expands the range of available research materials. Materials not owned by FDU Libraries may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Please see Requesting Interlibrary Loans for information on how to request materials to be sent to FDU Libraries.
Off-campus (remote) access to the FDU Libraries is available to students, faculty, and staff. When a database or resource is selected, a prompt for your FDU NetID and password will appear on your screen. Access will be granted upon verification of your credentials.
