Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Database Apps
- EBSCOhost App - this free app ensures that iPhone and iPod Touch users get the most from
searching premium EBSCOhost database content, provided courtesy of your
- Gale Databases App
the college edition app and use your FDU email address to sign up. The app
is optimized for use with the iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad. It also works with Android phones.
After a simple, one-time log-in, the
mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to the FDU Library's
reputable, authoritative Gale online resources — anytime, anywhere!
- AccessMyLibrary - also from GALE. Uses GPS to find public libraries within a 10-mile radius of the user's
location then provides free access to credible Gale online resources. A library card is not needed to perform
searches from your device..
- 24/7 tutor - a multilanguage tutoring program for beginning foreign language learners
General Reference Apps
- Dictionary.com - mobile dictionary and thesaurus app that is available for download in the iTunes App Store and Blackberry App World.
The app includes nearly 1,000,000 words and definitions and 90,000
synonyms and antonyms. No Internet connection is needed. The app also
features audio pronunciations, similarly spelled words and
Dictionary.com’s popular Word of the Day.
- Famous Speeches ($)
- History: Maps of the World - a collection of high resolution historical maps.
- IMBD - the Internet Movie Database as an app.
- National Geographic - apps, videos, atlases and more for your mobile device.
- U.S. Historical Documents ($) - Declaration of Indepedence and other important historical documents.
- Yellow & White pages app - is the
popular directories in mobile app form. You can obtain phone numbers,
driving directions, websites, and business information with easy
navigation features. The app automatically locates where you are and
ranks search results in the order of promixity to your location. The app
is FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store or from AndroidZoom
(scan the QR-code using a barcode scanner app, manually install from
the Android Market, or receive a direct download link in your mobile
from the link provided). Similar apps for the White Pages and the Yellow Pages are available in Blackberry App World as well.
- World Factbook ($)
- Worldbook: This Day in History - an interactive multimedia calendar that
displays historical events for the current day or any selected day,
along with related media such as photos, illustrations, music, and
speeches. You can hear the national anthems of countries on the day they
became a nation, listen to presidents’ speeches on the anniversaries