It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Graphic Design Subject Guide! This page contains quick access to popular databases, new books from the Libraries' collection, and important resources. Please use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate this guide for a variety of information related to graphic design.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowHumanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
International Encyclopedia of CommunicationThis link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Communication, a 12-volume is available online on the “Blackwell Reference Online” platform. It spans the breadth of communication studies, encompassing theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical regions. Subjects covered include communication theory and philosophy; interpersonal communication; journalism; intercultural and intergroup communication; media effects; strategic communication/PR; communication and media law and policy; media systems in the world; and communication and technology.
Oxford Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is a comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
3 concurrent users.
Pop Culture CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
New Books and eBooks
A History of Arab Graphic Design by Bahia Shehab; Haytham NawarPROSE AWARD WINNER, ART HISTORY & CRITICISM The first-ever book-length history of Arab graphic design Arab graphic design emerged in the early twentieth century out of a need to influence, and give expression to, the far-reaching economic, social, and political changes that were taking place in the Arab world at the time. But graphic design as a formally recognized genre of visual art only came into its own in the region in the twenty-first century and, to date, there has been no published study on the subject to speak of. A History of Arab Graphic Design traces the people and events that were integral to the shaping of a field of graphic design in the Arab world. Examining the work of over eighty key designers from Morocco to Iraq, and covering the period from pre-1900 to the end of the twentieth century, Bahia Shehab and Haytham Nawar chart the development of design in the region, beginning with Islamic art and Arabic calligraphy, and their impact on Arab visual culture, through to the digital revolution and the arrival of the Internet. They look at how cinema, economic prosperity, and political and cultural events gave birth to and shaped the founders of Arab graphic design. Highlighting the work of key designers and stunningly illustrated with over 600 color images, A History of Arab Graphic Design is an invaluable resource tool for graphic designers, one which, it is hoped, will place Arab visual culture and design on the map of a thriving international design discourse.
Call Number: NC845 .S54 2020 Florham
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Baseline Shift by Martha Scotford (Foreword by); Briar Levit (Editor)Baseline Shift captures the untold stories of women across time who used graphic design to earn a living while changing the world. Baseline Shift centers diverse women across backgrounds whose work has shaped, shifted, and formed graphic design as we know it today. From an interdisciplinary book designer and calligrapher starting out in Harlem's Renaissance, to the invisible drafters of Monotype's drawing office, the women represented here include auteurs, advocates for social justice, and creators ahead of their time. The fifteen essays in this illustrated collection come from contributors with a variety of backgrounds and perspectives. Baseline Shift is essential reading for students and practitioners of graphic design, as well as anyone with an interest in women's history.
Call Number: NC998 .B375 2021 Florham
Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Design School Reader by Steven HellerAn Essential Collection of Essays and Musings on Graphic Design from One of the Field's Leading Educators In this wide-ranging compilation, art director, writer, and lecturer Steven Heller shares his passion for graphic design with readers, whom he invites to consider that design can be discerned in all things natural and manmade. Developed as content for a class devoted to reading, this collection is not overtly about conventional design, but about a variety of topics viewed through the lens of design. Offered as a primer for undergraduate and graduate students, Design School Reader presents more than forty essays on subjects such as: The role of design in politics Visual culture and the social impact of design Key moments in the history of typography Technological innovations The power of branding and logos Ethical considerations and dilemmas Important figures in the design world Divided into five parts--Design Language; Design Dialects; Politics, Ideology, Design; Business and Commerce; and Inspiration and Discoveries--each section features a collection of essays culled from Heller's extensive publications from the past several decades. At the end of every essay, readers will find discussion points to prompt further lines of inquiry. As Heller notes, "The key is to read, discuss, and debate." Students, aficionados, and anyone with a healthy curiosity will thoroughly enjoy this illuminating and thought-provoking assemblage of perspectives on the practice.
Interlibrary Loan expands the range of available research materials. Materials not owned by FDU Libraries may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Please see Requesting Interlibrary Loans for information on how to request materials to be sent to FDU Libraries.
Off-campus (remote) access to the FDU Libraries is available to students, faculty, and staff. When a database or resource is selected, a prompt for your FDU NetID and password will appear on your screen. Access will be granted upon verification of your credentials.