FDU LibGuides: COMM 2102: International Communication: Online Resources

Overview

This library guide is designed to support and supplement course work and material for the COMM 2102 International Communication course. It does not contain a syllabus, assignment, or course schedule information.

Here, you will find suggested online resources to conduct research into a current conflict in a country you are studying in your COMM 2102 International Communication course. These resources should aid you in finding information from countries not well represented on the Internet, as well as help you to better understand the global digital divide.

Recommended Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.   Database Guide 
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world.  Database Guide 
AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window AtoZ Maps Online, from World Trade Press, is a comprehensive database of over 145,000 world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection monthly.

New York Times Online

International Encyclopedia of Communication This link opens in a new window The International Encyclopedia of Communication, a 12-volume is available online on the “Blackwell Reference Online” platform. It spans the breadth of communication studies, encompassing theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical regions. Subjects covered include communication theory and philosophy; interpersonal communication; journalism; intercultural and intergroup communication; media effects; strategic communication/PR; communication and media law and policy; media systems in the world; and communication and technology.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Access the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, one of the world's leading daily financial newspapers.
Useful for:

Newspaper articles on various topics including finance, the stock market, the economy, management, politics, U.S. news and world news.
Market data including stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, mutual funds, and ETFs

Includes:

Newspapers

The Digital Economy Report of the UN Conference on Trade and Development

UNCTAD United Nations Digital Economy Report 2021
The Digital Economy Report of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development examines the implications of growing cross-border data flows, especially for developing countries. It proposes to reframe and broaden the international policy debate with a view to building multilateral consensus.

Off Campus Access

Remote (off campus) access to the FDU databases is available only to FDU students, faculty, and staff.

To access a database from off campus, select it from the library's A-Z Databases List. You will be prompted for your FDU NET ID and password. Upon verification you will be given access to the database.

COMM 2102: International Communication: Online Resources

Overview

Recommended Databases

The Digital Economy Report of the UN Conference on Trade and Development

Off Campus Access

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library