FDU LibGuides: Accounting Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Accounting

BEST BETS

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete consists of three Business databases, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Combined you can search over 4000 business periodicals on advertising, economic, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, regional business publications and more.

Database Guide
Useful for:
- Accounting
- Entrepreneurship
- Finance
- Management – including HR management
- Marketing
Includes:
- Scholarly journals
- Case studies
- Conference proceedings
- Dissertations and theses
- News
- Industry reports (Plunkett Analytics)
- Company profiles
- Content of ABI Inform Global, ABI Inform Dateline, and ABI Inform Trade and Industry
Guide:
Using ABI/INFORM Complete

Similar Resources:
scrabble
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Useful for:
Accounting
Taxation
Financial services
Economics (secondary)

Includes:

Scholarly journal articles in accounting, taxation, auditing and financial services (banking, investing, insurance)
Dissertations & theses
Trade journals
Newspaper articles (limited)

Guide:
Using ABI/INFORM Complete (Uses the same platform)

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going as far back as 1886, with searchable cited references back to 1998.
Useful for:

Accounting
Finance
Marketing
Management Information Systems
Management
Entrepreneurship

Includes:

Journal Articles
Company Profiles (MarketLine Reports)
Industry Reports (MarketLine Reports & Barnes Reports)
Harvard Business Review Articles
Newspapers

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Business - Company/Industry Profiles
Business - Management
Economics & Theory from Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text academic journals and magazines including more than 1,800 titles.
Useful for:
Economics

Includes:

Journals articles on various aspects of business with an emphasis on economic theory and application
Magazine articles
News

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Entrepreneurship from Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories through more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text journals.
Useful for:
Entrepreneurship
Accounting
Management
Economics
Financial services (secondary)

Includes:

Scholarly journal articles about business including entrepreneurship, accounting, management, economics and financial services
News
Magazines
Business Videos

Similar Resources:
Business - General
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage is Standard & Poor’s comprehensive database of key business information. It provides Corporation records to over 12,000 publicly held U.S. Companies. It includes the Dividend Record to both domestic and foreign stocks, bonds, and money market funds. The Bond Guide is a comprehensive statistical tool to U.S. and Canadian corporate bonds and many of the most actively traded foreign bonds. The Industry Surveys give a current analysis of over 50 major U.S. industries including forecasts, trends and current data. The Outlook, Register, Stock Guide, Stock Reports and Security Dealers of North America are all individual investment decision making tools that add value to the database. Compustat Excel Analytics is also a part of this database with the exception of data being available only for 5 to 7 years.
Useful for:

Finance
Economics
Entrepreneurship (secondary)

Includes:

Industry reports
Company descriptions
Financial reports
Investor reports
Economic statistics
Executives
SEC filings
Company stock information
Interest rates
Treasury yield curve
S&P 500 Index profile (data/analysis)

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Business - Company/Industry Profiles
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives.

OTHER HELPFUL DATABASES

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to over 140,000 full-text books, reports, and other authoritative documents in the fields of Business & Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Database Guide
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete consists of three Business databases, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Combined you can search over 4000 business periodicals on advertising, economic, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, regional business publications and more.

Database Guide
Useful for:
- Accounting
- Entrepreneurship
- Finance
- Management – including HR management
- Marketing
Includes:
- Scholarly journals
- Case studies
- Conference proceedings
- Dissertations and theses
- News
- Industry reports (Plunkett Analytics)
- Company profiles
- Content of ABI Inform Global, ABI Inform Dateline, and ABI Inform Trade and Industry
Guide:
Using ABI/INFORM Complete

Similar Resources:
scrabble
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Useful for:
Accounting
Taxation
Financial services
Economics (secondary)

Includes:

Scholarly journal articles in accounting, taxation, auditing and financial services (banking, investing, insurance)
Dissertations & theses
Trade journals
Newspaper articles (limited)

Guide:
Using ABI/INFORM Complete (Uses the same platform)

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going as far back as 1886, with searchable cited references back to 1998.
Useful for:

Accounting
Finance
Marketing
Management Information Systems
Management
Entrepreneurship

Includes:

Journal Articles
Company Profiles (MarketLine Reports)
Industry Reports (MarketLine Reports & Barnes Reports)
Harvard Business Review Articles
Newspapers

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Business - Company/Industry Profiles
Business - Management
Economics & Theory from Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text academic journals and magazines including more than 1,800 titles.
Useful for:
Economics

Includes:

Journals articles on various aspects of business with an emphasis on economic theory and application
Magazine articles
News

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Entrepreneurship from Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories through more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text journals.
Useful for:
Entrepreneurship
Accounting
Management
Economics
Financial services (secondary)

Includes:

Scholarly journal articles about business including entrepreneurship, accounting, management, economics and financial services
News
Magazines
Business Videos

Similar Resources:
Business - General
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide

AICPA Advocacy
Authoritative literature and interpretations from the AICPA applicable to the preparation and issuance of audit reports for nonissuers (entities that are not issuers as defined by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act and entities whose audits are not required to be conducted according to the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board standards), including Statements on Auditing Standards, Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements, and Statements on Quality Control Standards.
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB)
The mission of the FASAB is to promulgate federal accounting standards after considering the financial and budgetary information needs of citizens, congressional oversight groups, executive agencies, and the needs of other users of federal financial information.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
This board establishes and improves standards of financial accounting and reporting, fostering financial reporting that provides decision-making information to investors and other users of financial reports.
GAO Government Auditing Standards (The Yellow Book)
The Yellow Book contains standards for audits of government organizations, programs, activities, and functions, as well as government assistance received by contractors, nonprofit organizations, and other nongovernmental organizations. These standards, often referred to as generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS), are to be followed by auditors and audit organizations when required by law, regulation, agreement, contract, or policy.
Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
The GASB mission is to establish and improve standards of state and local government accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports.
IFRS International Accounting Standards Board
The IFRS Foundation is an independent, nonprofit private sector organization working in the public interest. Its principal objectives are to develop a single set of high quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted international financial reporting standards (IFRSs) through its standard-setting body, the IASB and to promote the use and rigorous application of those standards.
IRS Internal Revenue Code
Federal tax law begins with the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), enacted by Congress in Title 26 of the United States Code (26 U.S.C.).
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission administers and enforces the securities laws of the United States, including issuing rules and releases regulating financial reporting of public companies.

MANAGERIAL AND FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING

AUDITING

FORENSIC ACCOUNTING

Accounting Topics

Accounting
Banks and banking
Fraud
Taxation
Corporate Governance
Auditing
Business ethics
Professional ethics - Accountants
Managerial accounting
Cost accounting

Accounting Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Accounting

BEST BETS

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library