Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ScienceDirect College Edition: Selecting Results

Selecting Results With Full Text

Once you have narrowed your results either by selective keywords or using the refine by options, you will see a list of results listed on the page. You will notice articles either have the FULL TEXT available or they do not. Articles with the full text available will look like example below with a green circle and "full text access" message next to the entry. Simply click on the article TITLE to access the article.

item result

 

 You can see the (A) FULL TEXT, (B) SOURCE, (C) ARTICLE TITLE, and (D) AUTHORS. In addition you can now view the ABSTRACT. An abstract is a brief summary of the article which allows you to see what the article is about without having to read the whole thing. To access the article, click on the (A) DOWNLOAD PDF icon on the top left of the page.

record layout

abstract

A great feature of ScienceDirect is the linking provided to the source in the article's references. If you scroll to the bottom of the article you will see a reference section which lists the articles cited by the author(s). Many of these will be linked back to the original article or to the Google Scholar record for the article. This can be a great way of find useful sources. 

references

 

Results Without Full Text

Sometimes you will come across articles or book chapters that are not available through our ScienceDirect subscription. In this case you will need to check to see if we have this in another database or if you will need to request it from another library via INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Entries like the one pictured below have no full text available in our ScienceDirect database, though we may have access to it elsewhere. Notice the green dot and "Full Text Access" label are missing.

no full text available

To check if the library has access to this article elsewhere click on the article title. Then from the record screen click on the GET ACCESS option.

Get access button

A box will pop up. You will notice two options, one to buy the article, which you do not want to do, and one to CHECK JOURNAL LOCATOR FOR FULL TEXT AVAILABILITY. Click this option. This will perform a search for this article across the library's various resources. 

check journal locator link

You should see a result similar to the one below with an option to REQUEST THIS ITEM. Click this button and fill out the form that follows. This will create an Interlibrary Loan request where the FDU library will try to get the article to you free of charge. This may take several days. If the article is available we will email it to you. If it is unavailable we will let you know too.

Journal locator screen

 

** Sometimes when you click the Get Access button you will not be given the Journal Locator link. This most often happens with book chapters and other non-article resources. In this case you can copy and paste the record's title in to the Discovery Catalog to see if it is available.