A persistent link is a static URL for a specific article retrieved from a database. Think of a persistent link as the permanent ID for this particular article in this particular database. Other terms for persistent link include "Permalink", "Stable URL", and "Document URL." Copying and pasting this URL (into Word, or WebCampus, as examples) allows a user to go directly to this specific article by clicking on the link, and not having to re-execute the search. A persistent link is specific to the particular database where you initially found the article (e.g., CINAHL). Clicking on the link will take you back to the article within CINAHL, even though the same article may be available in another database as well. Most of the library's databases use these persistent links, though some of the smaller or data driven databases do not.
Below is a list of vendor/publishers which offer persistent linking.
The following publishers/vendors offer direct smart linking from the browser address bar. You can copy the URL and share it as is.
The following databases offer persistent links through tools in the database. Click on each for more information.
​The following publisher/providers require a proxy prefix to work off campus. The proxy prefix tells the database provider you are associated with FDU and allows you to use your NET ID to sign in. Without it the database provider does not know you are an FDU user and will not allow you to access the resource.
Example A persistent link from Facts on File:
http://fofweb.com/activelink2.asp?ItemID=WE01&iPin=EHR0120&SingleRecord=true
If the link was copied and pasted exactly as shown here (as it is presented in the article), the article could be accessed from on campus however you would need to add the EZproxy prefix https://libaccess.fdu.edu/login?url= in order to access the article remotely. Add the prefix before the original URL.
The edited URL would look like this:
