Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Toolkit: When & How to Use Databases

Before you can begin your research, you need to know which database(s) would be most useful for your topic. The library subscribes to over 200 databases covering a wide variety of topics. This may seem overwhelming at first, but there are a few simple ways of finding which database may be most relevant to you. To find the list of databases to which we subscribe and to learn more about them, visit the A-Z Databases page. 

From your library's home page select A-Z Databases in the left hand menu.

You will see a list of all of our databases in alphabetical order. From here, you can sort the databases by subject area, i.e., criminal justice, history, or mathematics,  or by database type, i.e., those containing images, articles, or e-books. Select the subject area that best matches your topic. Each database has an information button next to it. Once you've selected your subject area, use the information about the resource to determine if it is an appropriate resource for you. 

Libguides a to z listing

When selecting by subject, the library will provide you with a list of "Best Bets" databases which should be more appropriate for your topic, as well as some multidisciplinary databases which could be helpful. 

When in doubt, select one of the Library's multidisciplinary databases such as Academic OneFileAcademic Search Premier, or Research Library. These databases cover a wide range of topics, and are often linked to subject area databases.

You can also view one of the library's research guides, one of which you're using right now, which will suggest which databases could be useful for your topic. 

Sample Guide:

Off Campus Access

Remote (off campus) access to the FDU databases is available only to FDU students, faculty, and staff.

To access a database from off campus, select it from the library's A-Z Databases List. You will be prompted for your FDU NET ID and password. Upon verification you will be given access to the database. 

 

FDU Single Sign On