Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open access books devoted to archaeology.
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing free access to books in public domain.
Open access e-books, including some textbooks.
Brill Open E-Book Collection
Nearly 200 open access books primarily focusing on Asian Studies.
Cambridge University Press Open Access Books
Over 60 open access titles covering a variety of topics.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Biographies of important Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930. Work in progress.
Digital Book Index
Thousands of digital books available from commercial, noncommercial, universities and various private sites. Most of them are available at no charge.
Digital Public Library of America
A growing open portal that brings together various digitized collections to create “an open network of online resources that draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums." Includes thousands of items from the Government Printing Office's Catalog of Publications and the Medical Heritage Library research collection.
Directory of Open Access Books
Thousands of academic, peer-reviewed books from over 90 publishers. Note: Some books have partial content only.
Humanities Open Book Collection
Open access collection of outstanding out-of-print books in the humanities available as free e-books courtesy of The Humanities Open Book project. Once in a title you can download in EPUB or Mobi format.
Humanities Text Initiative
Full texts of thousands of prose and poetic works. Created by the University of Michigan.
JSTOR Open Access E-Books
Over 2000 monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Publishers include Fordham University Press, NYU Press, Cornell University Press, University of California Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press. Growing collection.
Making of America, books
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
OAPEN - Open Access Publishing in European Networks
A quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
Project MUSE - Open Access
Open Access Books and Journals on the Project Muse platform.
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image
Full text of rare books, manuscripts, and images 9th-20th cent. at PENN Library's collections.
Offering of books in a wide range of areas within science, technology and medicine (STM).
Full Open Access - All resources from this site are open access. Registration may be required.
Partial Open Access - This site has a mix of open access and paid content. Registration may be required.
Reviews Available - Source provides user/peer reviews.
Creative Commons - Resources use Creative Commons licensing.