COMM 2099: Professional Communication: Library Databases

MarketLine Advantage tracks company and industry competition, strategy, market share, trends, mergers, acquisitions, and forecasting. Reports are all full-text, with both capsule and full-report access. Reports for large companies often include a SWOT analysis. Many reports are in real time, often generated from primary data gathered from industry-specific associations.

 Research Guide 

600 market research reports, data for entrepreneurial studies, sales marketing, and target markets, as well as key current statistical information.

Provides industry analysis, research, trends and timely industry specific statistics. Includes market research material and industry marketing data.

Tabulated marketing information on the demographic and psychographic characteristics of individuals, products, and services. It is an enormous composite of statistical information.

ABI/INFORM Complete is designed to help researchers study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others. It offers users a variety of documents, including some scholarly journal articles.

Academic journals that cover all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for over 620 additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.

CQ Researcher offers original, comprehensive reporting on and unbiased analysis of issues in the news. Areas covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher Online offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991.