Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Master of Public Administration - Faculty Guide: Online Resources

Finding Online Databases

Finding online resources in the library's collection is an easy process when you know where to look. The Library subscribes to over 190 online databases, with over 125,000 journal titles, 160,000+ ebooks, and a number of streaming video titles. All of these resources can be accessed through the FDU Online Library link on Library Resources for Online & Off-Campus Students. To navigate to the Library Resources for Online & Off-Campus Student page, from the University homepage click on the Online Learning & Off-campus Sites link. Then click the Library Resources link in the left side menu. 

 

From here click on the FDU Online Library or FDU Online Library: A-Z link in the left side menu.

This will bring you to an alphabetical listing of the databases to which the library subscribes. If you know the name of the database you can choose it here, however if you're uncertain which databases to use there is a Subject filter at the top of the page.

From here you can sort the databases by a specific subject such as Government, Law, & Public Policy or Multi-disciplinary Databases. This will return a list of databases most likely to have information on or about your chosen subject area. From here you can hover your mouse over the "i" information icon to learn more about the individual databases. 

You can also sort the databases by the type of content they include, such as images, ebooks, and newspapers. This content type does not suggest the database is only an image or ebook database, but rather it contains content of this type and is searchable by that content. For instance Academic Search Premier contains audio content but is not primarily made up of audio content. 

Remote Access to Resources

Remote (off campus) access to the FDU databases is available only to FDU students, faculty, and staff.

When you try to access a library database from off campus you will be prompted to log into your FDU account. In the User Name enter your FDU Webmail address. In the password box enter your FDU Webmail password.