Skip to main content

Paralegal Subject Guide: Books & E-books

Finding Print and E-books

Print and ebooks can be found using the Library's catalog. To search the catalog, enter your search terms below. 

Paralegal Collection

The legal collection is in call number areas K, KF, and KFN in the reference and circulating collections. We have a variety of case books and legal primers in the reference room by legal topic. The state and federal reference collections are located near the stack area on the reference room floor. These materials can be located through Search Library Catalog on the library home page. Searches can be conducted using title, title keyword, or subject browse. A title example would be New Jersey Statutes Annotated. Title keyword examples would be torts or contract law. This will bring up electronic books (ebrary) as well as hard copy books.

Selected Books and eBooks

COURT DECISIONS AND DIGESTS

Supreme Court Reporter (Ref. KF 101.S9) - Case law of the United States Supreme Court arranged in volumes by date of decision, including permanent bound, interim edition, and advance sheets.

New Jersey Reports (Ref. KFN 1845.N5) - Case law of the Supreme Court of New Jersey arranged in volumes by date of decision, including permanent bound and advance sheets.

New Jersey Superior Court Reports (Ref. KFN 1851.N5) - Case law of the Superior Court of New Jersey arranged in volumes by date of decision, including permanent bound and advance sheets.

West's New Jersey Digest 2d (Ref. KFN 1857.W475) - Arranged in volumes alphabetically by subject using keywords and key numbers in order to locate applicable New Jersey state and federal case law. The cases are summarized with a paragraph under each topic and subtopic, including the case citations. Updated by pocket parts and pamphlets.

STATUTES AND LAWS

United States Code Annotated (USCA) (Ref. KF 62 1927.W45) - Federal statutes arranged in volumes alphabetically by subject with general index volumes at the end of the set. Updated by pocket parts and pamphlets.

United States Statutes at Large (Ref. K 345.S79) - The full text of the laws passed during each session of Congress arranged chronologically by date of passage. Our set was discontinued in 2006.

U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News (Ref. K 345.1.C61C) - This multi-volume set contains the legislative histories and texts of passed public laws. Our set was discontinued in 2007.

New Jersey Statutes Annotated (NJSA) (Ref. KFN 1830 1937.A42) - New Jersey state statutes arranged in volumes alphabetically by subject with general index volumes at the end of the set. Updated by pocket parts and pamphlets.

OTHER LEGAL REFERENCE BOOKS

2010 New Jersey Lawyers Diary and Manual (Ref. KF 192.N4 L35) - Contains lists of active and inactive members of the New Jersey state bar, complete information about the New Jersey court system and personnel, and a daily calendar.

2007 New York Lawyers Diary and Manual (Ref. KF 192.N53) - This provides the same information as the New Jersey edition above, but for the state of New York.

New Jersey Practice (Ref. KFN 1880.N4) - This multi-volume set provides a primer and overview of New Jersey state law by legal topic in a readable format useful to practitioners and laymen. Updated by pocket parts.

Black's Law Dictionary, 8th Edition (Ref. KF 156.B53)

Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.) (Ref. K 345.C82) - This multi-volume set is a comprehensive encyclopedia of United States law arranged alphabetically by legal topics as developed by U.S. federal and state cases. It provides an overview of almost all areas of law as well as footnoted citations to case law and other primary sources of law.

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 18th Edition (Ref. KF 245.B58) - Official legal citations published by The Harvard Law Review Association.

2007 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (Ref. KF 190.M3), volumes 7 and 8 (containing New Jersey and New York) - Directory of members of the bar by jurisdiction and detailed descriptions of law firms.

Shepard's New Jersey Citations (Ref. KFN 1859.S453) - This set indicates whether a particular court decision is still good law or has been reversed by a higher court. It also lists all the other cases that cite that particular decision in its opinions.

Shepard's New Jersey Case Names Citator (Ref. KFN 1859.S45) - This set assists in finding New Jersey cases by the names of the plaintiffs and respondents in litigation.

Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names, Federal and State (Ref. KF 90.S52) - This set assists in finding federal and state legislation by way of the names associated with the bills and legislation, for example Social Security Act or Veterans' Benefits.