Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Feasibility Study for New Ventures: Home

Product/Service

Business start-up or product idea first find a true definition of your product or service. Know your product/service  and be comfortable talking about it. 

 Please remember your product or service will usually be part of a  larger market or industry.

Example: dog treats belong to dog food which belongs to the larger category of PET FOOD.  

Sources:

 1. North American Industry Classification System United States, 1997. (NAICS) 

2.  Encyclopedia of American Industries. Electronic version in Business Insights

-------------------------------------------------------------

Market Composition

Encyclopedia of American Industries. Electronic version in Business Insights will give you a complete overview of the industry including major categories, companies, and industry statistics.

What are the categories or shapes of the market? Example: Pet food, categories: wet, dry, treats, dog food, cat food or other pet foods. What  companies and/or brands dominate? What is their market share?

Sources:

1. Encyclopedia of American Industries. Electronic version in Business Insights will give you a complete overview of the industry including major categories, companies, and industry statistics.

Industry Analysis gives a capsule overview of various industries. Current market tends, market size and market growth are covered with easy access to industry statistics. Industry leaders are listed in table format.

formerly  DATAMONITOR 360 is four databases in one. It tracks company and industry: competition, strategy, market share, trends, mergers, acquisitions and forecasting. Reports often contain a SWOT analysis.

4.Market share can be found in the Market Share Reporter book format (Call # HF5418) or the electronic versions in Business Insights Database.

5. Market Share can be found in the MARKET DATA ANALYTICS database which is one of the databases inside MarketLIneAdvantage.

use the Industry search box to locate your industry. Ratios are calculated by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes. Five years of ratios are given for all industries.The PDF of the RMA annual statement studies. Philadelphia:Robert Morris Associates is located in this database.

------------------------------------------------------

Industry analysis with trends and statistics.

and company tracker

MARKET SHARE REPORTER in Business Insights: Essentials, Market Share Reporter
Leave the Rankings above and change the Company to Source= Market share reporter. In the second box put the keyword example dog food.

MARKET DATA ANALYTICS in MarketLineAdvantage databases

First set the country, second break down the product to the closest component.

Market Size and Potential (Is there a need?)

1. Who exists in the current market?  

2. Can the market sustain another enterprise?   

3. How does your product/service differ from existing market offerings?

Sources:

will give you a more microeconomic view of your current market. Use the custom search to create a market and geographic aggregate of who is in the current business. They will also be your competition. Here you get the names and locations of all current market players. 

Academic is a consumer research database with global statistical data. It will help create a PEST (political, economic, social, and technological) analysis of your market.

Expand business types by major industry groups. Use geography to get a further breakdown.

Competitive Advantage

1. Find a large public company in your potential start up's industry or market.

2.Research the Company Profile. 

3.Who are their major competitors?

Sources:

 this is the electronic version of Standard & Poor's. It provides corporation records to over 12,000 public companies. It will also list the corporate leaders of the industry.

give an overview of both public and private companies. Lists key personnel and major competitors.

will give you access to the most current municipal market. Think of them as a local telephone directory with extended plus features such as company size, workforce size and general market revenue. Use the custom search to create a market and geographic aggregate of who is in the current business. They will also list your competition. Here you get the names and locations of all current market players.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Use costume search.

Demographics and Target Audience

Who will be using this product/service?

provides a demographic overview of the United States consumer base. It provided demographics down to the County level of each state.  The Lifestyles analysis gives targeting insights into consumer behavior using a high-indexing system. The high-indexing behaviors, of individuals in geographic areas, help to target where markets can flourish.

Academic is a consumer research database with global statistical data. It will help create a PEST (political, economic, social, and technological) analysis of your market.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Business Research Library

Maria Kocylowsky's picture
Maria Kocylowsky
Contact:
MariaLK@fdu.edu; 201-692-2608