FDU LibGuides: Hip Hop Resources: Data & Research

Archival Collections, Websites, and Articles

The Cornell Hip Hop Collection
The mission of the Cornell Hip Hop Collection (CHHC) is to collect and make accessible the historical artifacts of Hip Hop culture and to ensure their preservation for future generations. It is open to the public.
Rice University Hip Hop Archival Collection
The Center is engaged in various projects—from creating an archive to developing innovative courses in order to highlight and appreciate Hip Hop’s cultural and social impact on local and global communities.
The Harvard Hip Hop Archive
The Hip Hop Archive & Research Institute’s mission is to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through Hip Hop.
The Smithsonian Hip Hop Collections
Explore Hip Hop and rap-related collections from across the Smithsonian that offer perspective on the African American experience and its impact on American culture.
University of Massachusetts Hip Hop Archives
Featuring the Lecco’s Lemma Collection which contains digitized Hip Hop artist demos
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
The Bronx Hip Hop Museum
The world's first Hip Hop Museum
Hip Hop History: From the Streets to the Mainstream
From the street corner to the world stage, Hip Hop has grown into one of the world’s most prominent musical genres and cultural influences. Explore significant events in Hip Hop history and its explosive evolution.
Protesting Police Violence, a Playlist
Hip Hop discussed as a historical record of the nation’s racial violence and injustice
Nas next to Mozart? Why not?
Harvard archive shines an academic light on the social, poetic, and musical complexities of Hip Hop

Recommended Databases

Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Provides 150 journals exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.  Guide to using Academic OneFile
ProQuest Power Search This link opens in a new window Search all the 14 of the library's ProQuest databases from one search box. Results include journals, eBooks, and newspapers.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, and more. Explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.  Guide to Using Access World News
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers 12,000-word reports in the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window Access the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today.  Guide to Using New York Times
The New York Times online requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 15,000 full-text news, legal, and business sources, including journal articles, broadcasts, newswires, blogs, newspapers, federal and state legal cases and statutes, U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and business information on 80 million companies and 75 million executives.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window A full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Guide to Using Research Library

Hip Hop Resources: Data & Research

Archival Collections, Websites, and Articles

Recommended Databases

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library