FDU LibGuides: Humanities Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Philosophy

Best Bets:

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras This link opens in a new window Arts and Humanities Through the Eras in an online historical encyclopedia, It covers the history of various disciplines such as architechure and design, fashion, literature, music, philosohy, religion, theater and more. It also has biographical profiles of important people.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window This database features content from Facts On File's literature collection; Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers; critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint; entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; and almost 2,200 video clips.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window Each volume profiles approximately four to eight novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each of the approximately 75 essays per volume; many include an author portrait.  Database Guide 
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.  Database Guide 
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Gale's Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information for the student of literature, including criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text authors' works, and reading lists.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive collection of journal content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Other Useful Databases:

While not necessarily specific to philosophy, these resources cover a wide range of topics (including philosophy), and so may be useful for finding additional resources.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.  Database Guide 
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.  Database Guide 
Critical Insights (series) This link opens in a new window Critical Insights series presents both classic and current literary criticism of the world's most-studied literature. Titles are available according to author (e.g., Flannery O'Connor and F. Scott Fitzgerald), work (e.g., Dracula and Handmaid's Tale), and theme (e.g., "good and evil" and "literature of protest"). 23 titles are now available online and in print at FDU campus libraries.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window The Films on Demand Master Collection provides access to over 41,000 educational videos and award winning documentaries covering a wide range of topics.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database providing information on authors and their works from antiquity to the present. It includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, literary journals, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and several major literary reference works.
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Elite provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: full text Magill Book Reviews; reference and travel books; biographies; over 75,000 full text primary source documents; and an Image Collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1963 to the present. The database provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,400 journals titles. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Database Guide 
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.  Database Guide 
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive research database covering sociology as well as related areas: It provides full text for some 890 journals dating back to 1908, as well as full text for over 850 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers. Indexing is provided for more than 4,000 journals, with abstracts for over 1,300 "core" journals dating back to 1895.

The following databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles. Many also include other types of resources so you may need to use a filter to limit your results to journal articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Each volume profiles approximately four to eight novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each of the approximately 75 essays per volume; many include an author portrait.

Database Guide
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.

Database Guide
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database providing information on authors and their works from antiquity to the present. It includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, literary journals, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and several major literary reference works.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale's Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information for the student of literature, including criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text authors' works, and reading lists.
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Elite provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: full text Magill Book Reviews; reference and travel books; biographies; over 75,000 full text primary source documents; and an Image Collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1963 to the present. The database provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,400 journals titles. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of journal content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.

Database Guide
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive research database covering sociology as well as related areas: It provides full text for some 890 journals dating back to 1908, as well as full text for over 850 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers. Indexing is provided for more than 4,000 journals, with abstracts for over 1,300 "core" journals dating back to 1895.

The following databases contains reference materials. Reference sources are useful for finding background information on a topic.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras This link opens in a new window
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras in an online historical encyclopedia, It covers the history of various disciplines such as architechure and design, fashion, literature, music, philosohy, religion, theater and more. It also has biographical profiles of important people.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This database features content from Facts On File's literature collection; Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers; critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint; entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; and almost 2,200 video clips.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Each volume profiles approximately four to eight novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each of the approximately 75 essays per volume; many include an author portrait.

Database Guide
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library providing access to over 615 reference books. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, in addition to a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Database Guide
Critical Insights (series) This link opens in a new window
Critical Insights series presents both classic and current literary criticism of the world's most-studied literature. Titles are available according to author (e.g., Flannery O'Connor and F. Scott Fitzgerald), work (e.g., Dracula and Handmaid's Tale), and theme (e.g., "good and evil" and "literature of protest"). 23 titles are now available online and in print at FDU campus libraries.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database providing information on authors and their works from antiquity to the present. It includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, literary journals, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and several major literary reference works.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale's Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information for the student of literature, including criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text authors' works, and reading lists.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.

Database Guide

A primary source is first-hand information and unfiltered by analysis or interpretation.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This database features content from Facts On File's literature collection; Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers; critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint; entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; and almost 2,200 video clips.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Each volume profiles approximately four to eight novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each of the approximately 75 essays per volume; many include an author portrait.

Database Guide
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.

Database Guide
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale's Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information for the student of literature, including criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text authors' works, and reading lists.
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Elite provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: full text Magill Book Reviews; reference and travel books; biographies; over 75,000 full text primary source documents; and an Image Collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.

Database Guide
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive research database covering sociology as well as related areas: It provides full text for some 890 journals dating back to 1908, as well as full text for over 850 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers. Indexing is provided for more than 4,000 journals, with abstracts for over 1,300 "core" journals dating back to 1895.

The following databases contain audio, video, and/or images. You may need to use the advanced search feature or another filter to limit your results to one of these formats.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines — from science, technology and medicine to the humanities.

Database Guide
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications.

Database Guide
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This database features content from Facts On File's literature collection; Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers; critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint; entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; and almost 2,200 video clips.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Each volume profiles approximately four to eight novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers or other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. A full citation and annotation precede each of the approximately 75 essays per volume; many include an author portrait.

Database Guide
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand Master Collection provides access to over 41,000 educational videos and award winning documentaries covering a wide range of topics.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale databases simultaneously.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. In addition to hundreds of full-text books, the database includes over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 1,100 additional journals are indexed.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR journal archives provide full-text collections of core scholarly journals across a variety of disciplines from the arts to the sciences with a strong emphasis on the humanities.

Database Guide
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database providing information on authors and their works from antiquity to the present. It includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, literary journals, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and several major literary reference works.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale's Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information for the student of literature, including criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text authors' works, and reading lists.
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Elite provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: full text Magill Book Reviews; reference and travel books; biographies; over 75,000 full text primary source documents; and an Image Collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1963 to the present. The database provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,400 journals titles. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of journal content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Database Guide
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier collection consists of over 640 peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications in the fields of business, the humanities, the social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Articles from January 1999 to the present are available in full text.

Database Guide
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive research database covering sociology as well as related areas: It provides full text for some 890 journals dating back to 1908, as well as full text for over 850 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers. Indexing is provided for more than 4,000 journals, with abstracts for over 1,300 "core" journals dating back to 1895.

Humanities Subject Guide: Databases

Databases for Philosophy

Metropolitan Library

Florham Library