FDU LibGuides: Black Lives Matter: An Antiracist Research &amp; Action Guide: Getting Started

Description

This guide is designed to be a starting point for research on antiracism, with a focus on resources made available by FDU Libraries. It is by no means comprehensive, and we will be adding to both this guide and our collection overtime. If you would like to suggest a resource - whether it be a website, book, organization, or article - please do so by filling out the form below.

Twitter Handles to Follow

Antiracist Resource & Policy Center and Other Organizations

Antiracist Resource & Policy Center at American University
The mission of the Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC) is to support the innovation and enactment of antiracist policies at the local, state and national level by connecting AU faculty, students, and staff to the Washington, DC, and wider communities.
Black Lives Matter
#BlackLivesMatter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer. Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
Campaign Zero
Campaign Zero is a project of the non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, WeTheProtesters. Funds donated to Campaign Zero support the analysis of policing practices across the country, research to identify effective solutions to end police violence, technical assistance to organizers leading police accountability campaigns and the development of model legislation and advocacy to end police violence nationwide.
Documenting Ferguson
Documenting Ferguson is a freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014. Their project has the ultimate goal of providing diverse perspectives on the events in Ferguson and the resulting social dialogue.
National Bail Out Fund
The National Bail Out collective is a Black-led and Black-centered collective of abolitionist organizers, lawyers and activists building a community-based movement to support our folks and end systems of pretrial detention and ultimately mass incarceration.
Southern Poverty Law Center
The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality.

Recommended Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics.   Database Guide 
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers original, comprehensive reporting on and unbiased analysis of issues in the news. Areas covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report includes an introductory overview of the topic; background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher Online offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes over 300,000 records representing hundreds of journals from around the world. The database covers criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; and probation and parole.
Criminal Justice from Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides more than 250 journals covering law, law enforcement, paralegal services, homeland security, forensic science, and much more.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window Access the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851 through the latest news of today.  Database Guide 
The New York Times online requires you to create an account before you can access the site. You must use your FDU email address when registering. Access is good for one year. After which you will need to re-register. To re-register follow these instructions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window A resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search ProQuest for information from over 3,300 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and physical sciences.  Database Guide 
U.S. Government Online This link opens in a new window U.S. Government Online is a reference site designed to facilitate study of the structure, function, and history of the U.S. government. The site includes overview essays, articles from encyclopedias and other reference works, primary source documents, current news articles, tables, charts, and maps, images and videos, special features, and a dictionary.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window Provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.